EWS Scholarship 2016


The Equality Winston-Salem Scholarship was established in 2013 to provide scholarships for students who have shown leadership and vision in a Gay/Straight Alliance at their school or in the general LGBTQ community if no such alliance yet exists within the school. In 2015, the scholarship was renamed the Kevin Jennings Equality Winston-Salem Scholarship to honor the generosity of Mr. Jennings and acknowledge the struggles he overcame as a gay teenager in the 1970s in Winston-Salem/ Forsyth County. This year Equality Winston-Salem will award up to $3,500 in scholarships to deserving students.  Scholarship monies will be applied to the cost of undergraduate tuition, fees, room and board, and/or other college expenses. In any given year, if there are no qualified student/s identified by the scholarship deadline, funds may be carried over and awarded the following year.

Since 2013, EWS has awarded $8,000 in scholarships to 13 deserving Winston-Salem Forsyth County high school seniors.

Download the scholarship application here:
EWS 2016 scholarship

Equality Winston-Salem 2016 Scholarship Guidelines

To receive consideration, an applicant must:

• Be a resident of Forsyth County, North Carolina
• Have a current minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 2.0
• Be graduating in Spring 2016 from a Winston-Salem/Forsyth County high school or receiving an equivalent GED and attending a college, university or technical college in Fall 2016
• Demonstrate active involvement/leadership in a Gay/Straight Alliance, Equality Club or in the general Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) community
• Realize this scholarship is not based on financial need; however, financial need can be mentioned in your applicant letter

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Friday, April 15, 2016 at 5pm.



2014 EWS Scholarship flyer

2014 EWS Scholarship flyer[1]scholar announce flyer[1]